Emissions Testing in Washington State
The Clean Car Law in Washington State is set to expire in 2019. Until that occurs, certain vehicles must be tested to determine if they can pass the current emissions standards. Washington State currently follows the published California emissions standards when testing vehicles locally. If you have recently moved to Washington State, then you have 30 days to register your vehicle. Owners with a vehicle that is model year 2008 or older must generally have their vehicle tested by an authorized party to complete the registration process.
Exempted Vehicles in WA from Emissions Testing
Certain vehicles are exempt from the emissions testing process in Washington State. Hybrid vehicles are the most common vehicle type to receive an exemption. Here is a list of common exemptions:
- Vehicles powered by propane, electricity, compressed natural gas, or liquid petroleum.
- 2007 or new diesel vehicles under 6,001 pounds.
- Vehicles that are model year 2009 or newer.
- Vehicles that are over 25 years old.
If you purchased your vehicle from a dealer in Washington State, then it may not require emissions testing. Farm vehicles, motorcycles, and certain collectible vehicles are also usually exempt from these inspection requirements.
Emissions Testing Requirements for Military Personnel
Washington State has a proud history of serving our veterans and active-duty military personnel. Emissions testing may be required for some vehicles, based on the requirements that are in Federal law, but not state law. Vehicles that operate on military bases may have separate emissions testing requirements that differ from Federal and State laws to consider as well.
If you live or drive your vehicle in Washington 60 days or more each year, then emissions testing may be required. You may also be required to have the vehicle tested if you are stationed or live in Clark, King, Pierce, Snohomish, or Spokane county.
If your vehicle fails the inspection for some reason, you may be eligible for a free retest within 12 months of the failed test. You may also be able to apply for a waiver under certain conditions.
If you have more questions about emissions testing, be sure to visit the WA Vehicle Emission Check Program help page. You can also call or visit one of the five Jeff’s Auto Repair shops in the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA Metropolitan area to speak with one of our knowledgeable service advisors!
Leave a Reply